Nikki Terpilowski

Terpilowski_Nikki-35-TwitterFounder/Senior Agent

Based in Raleigh, NC and established in 2011, Holloway Literary is a full-service agency that represents writers in romance, women’s and southern fiction, mystery, thriller, historical, literary, science fiction and select young adult.

After receiving a B.A. in English, Nikki worked in the marketing communications field for several years as a writer and editor for civilian and government clients. Deciding she wanted to align her professional career with her lifelong passion for reading and writing, she interned at the Elaine English Agency based in Washington, DC, and then moved into literary management, representing a small group of women’s fiction and romance writers, that has expanded to include a list of YA, literary, historical, southern, mystery and thriller authors. Nikki loves all types of fiction, but is particularly interested in finding fresh Southern voices and interesting historical fiction.

When she’s not working or co-parenting her three sons,  she enjoys traveling to the beach, mountains and all historical sites in between. She strives to maintain her physical and spiritual well-being with Zumba, Pilates, yoga and meditation. And in her downtime she reads for fun or binge-watches shows like Amazon’s Patriot or AMC’s Turn.

She Tweets about her favorite topics: books, wine, craft beer, history, southern culture and travel at @AWomanReading.

Read an interview with Nikki.

Some of Nikki’s career highlights include:

RITA Nominated Titles

  • The Smuggler Wore Silk, Alyssa Alexander, Berkley

RT Book Reviews Top Picks

  • The Smuggler Wore Silk, Alyssa Alexander, Berkley
  • In Bed With A Spy, Alyssa Alexander, Berkley
  • The Happy Hour Choir, Sally Kilpatrick, Kensington

Starred Publishers Weekly Review

  • The Smuggler Wore Silk, Alyssa Alexander, Berkley
  • In Bed With A Spy, Alyssa Alexander, Berkley

Goodreads Choice Awards Nominee 2017 – Best Mystery/Thriller

  • The Marriage Lie, Kimberly Belle, MIRA/HarperCollins

Bestsellers

The Marriage Lie, Kimberly Belle

  • Wall Street Journal
  • USA Today
  • Globe & Mail 
  • iTunes iBooks UK

Amazon

  • Prada And Prejudice, Katie Oliver, HQ Digital/HarperCollins UK
  • The Happy Hour Choir, Sally Kilpatrick, Kensington
  • The Marriage Lie, Kimberly Belle, MIRA/HarperCollins

Submissions

Nikki is currently accepting submissions for:

  • Southern fiction
  • Historical fiction
  • Young adult
  • Women’s fiction
  • Literary fiction
  • Cozies – Written in the vein of Ellery Adams, Eva Gates, Amanda Flower, Bailey Cates, Leslie Budewitz, . With book, food and beverage (wine, beer, coffee, tea, etc.), gardening/herbs, historical society/museum themes or magical realism.
  • Science Fiction – Including Afrofuturist fiction, written in the vein of Nnedi Okorafor and Octavia Butler
  • African-American – Fiction of all types that explore the African diaspora or African-American experience in a new or interesting way, that goes beyond a focus on racism.
  • Non-fiction related to mindfulness, healthy eating (Paleo, gluten-free, etc.), regional/ethnic/fusion cookbooks, foodie subjects, travel, alternative simple living, i.e. homesteading, minimalism, etc, interesting self-help (personal and professional), military experiences, Civil War, Southern living, etc.
  • Key words that interest Nikki in queries: North Carolina, Virginia, New Orleans, Nashville, Napa, African-diaspora, Caribbean, African-American, Native American, Indian, Japan, Food, Wine, Coffee, Beer, Bakery, Farms, Civil War, Revolutionary War, Southern, Mountains, Beach, Magical Realism, Spies, Espionage, DARPA, Treasure, Secret Histories, Aliens, Military, Conspiracy, Organic, Mindfulness, Yoga

Instructions

Email a brief query and the first 15 pages of your manuscript pasted in the body of your email to submissions @ hollowayliteraryagency.com In the email subject header, write: Nikki/Title/Genre. You can expect a response in 6 to 8 weeks.

If you feel that more than one agent at Holloway would be interested in your work, please only send to one agent at a time. Once you receive a response from the first agent you queried, then you may submit to another agent. Any queries sent to more than one agent at the same time will be deleted.

If Nikki is interested, she’ll respond with a request for more material. Due to the number of emails we receive, Nikki may only respond if she’s interested.